Having spent 2 years compiling my story and finally publishing it on Oct 6, 2017, I can honestly say that it was by far the most therapeutic experience I have ever had.  I had countless “aha” moments every step of the way and publishing took it up several notches.

Even if you have no interest in publishing, for whatever reason, maintaining your privacy being the usual, you have the option of writing under a pen name or even changing the names of the characters and the places and labelling it “Fiction”.

But no matter how you go about this, it’s a pretty sure bet that you will feel better.

Another side benefit that I experienced is that telling my story got others I know to open up about theirs. I found it absolutely amazing how much trauma people I personally know have gone through in their lives yet each and everyone of them managed to rise above it and are enjoying life in their later years.

The thing we all seemed to have in common was our willingness to get it off our chest and share it with someone, whether a best friend, a therapist or in a book.

So, no matter how embarrassed or ashamed you may feel about your past, let it go, compile your story.  Once you’ve done so you can decide what you want to do with it.

Happy compiling!_20140711_231124